It has been 17 years since a Maine team has played at the Little League World Series in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. The South Portland All Star team will try to end the streak today at the New England Regional title game against Connecticut.

ESPN cameras will be there to cover it live at 1pm.

The South Portland American team is already a cinderella story. A district champion for the first time in over 20 years. A state champion for the first time in 50 years.

At the regional in Bristol have had to come-from-behind on several occations. An tourney opening win over Vermont 9-7, scoring seven runs in the 6th inning. After losing 8-0 to Connecticut, SoPo beat Rhode Island, Vermont again and then New Hampshire to work their way to the winner-goes-to-Williamsport game today.

It could be argued that Connecticut has had the easier trip through the regional. The Fairfield American LL team had a bye and then went 2-0 to get to the championship game.

No matter what happens today, South Portland will leave the tourney will the most wins, a 4-1 record into the title game.


2005 Westbrook All Stars: Twelve years ago, the kids from Westbrook won the state championship and then went on to win the New England Regional in Bristol, Connecticut. The team lost its first two games in Williamsport before winning a consolation bracket game.

1971 Augusta East All Stars: 46 years ago, Augusta East took part in what was then an 8-team LLWS. Augusta got shut out by Spain 5-0, then scored a 1-0 win over Kentucky before losing to Puerto Rico.

1951 Portland Suburban All Stars: 66 years ago, the Portland Little Leaguers played in an 8-team single elimination LLWS and lost to Texas 3-1 after getting a first round bye.

South Portland LL ESPN
2017 South Portland LL Photo / ESPN Studios

New England Region Tournament (2001-Present)

2016Warwick North (Rhode Island) 5, Fairfield American (Connecticut) 1
2015Cranston Western (Rhode Island) 10, Bedford (New Hampshire) 4
2014Cumberland American (Rhode Island) 10, Fairfield American (Connecticut) 6
2013Westport (CT) 1, Lincoln (RI) 0
2012Fairfield American (CT) 14, Bedford (NH) 0 (6 innings)
2011Cumberland American (RI) 13, Andover National (MA) 7
2010Fairfield American (CT) 1, Cumberland National (RI) 0
2009Peabody Western (MA) 11, Lincoln (RI) 7
2008Shelton National (CT) 2, Manchester North (NH) 1
2007Walpole American (MA) 14, Shelton National (CT) 4 (5 innings)
2006Portsmouth (NH) 3, Glastonbury American (CT) 0
2005Westbrook (ME) 7, Cranston Western (RI) 2
2004Lincoln (RI) 3, Portsmouth (NH) 0
2003Saugus American (MA) 4, Augusta West (ME) 0
2002Jesse Burkett (Worcester, MA) 1, Portsmouth (RI) 0
2001Lincoln (RI) 6, South Burlington (VT) 3

Eastern Region Tournament (1957-2000)

2000Goffstown (NH) 1, Rolando Paulino (Bronx, NY) 0 (7 innings)
1999Toms River East American (NJ) 3, Middleboro (MA) 0
1998Toms River East American (NJ) 2, Georgetown (DE) 0
1997Railway Park (Pottsville, PA) 2, St. Mary's American (Hollywood/California, MD) 1
1996Cranston Western (RI) 4, Franklin (PA) 1 (7 innings)
1995Toms River East American (NJ) 11, Brandywine (Wilmington, DE) 0
1994Middleboro (MA) 7, Millburn-Short Hills (NJ) 1
1993Bedford (NH) 1, Southington Northern (CT) 0
1992Nottingham (Hamilton Square, NJ) 8, Manchester South (NH) 0
1991South Shore American (Staten Island, NY) 5, South Vineland (NJ) 4
1990Shippensburg (PA) 8, Newark American (DE) 2
1989Trumbull National (CT Div. 1) 15, Brandywine (Wilmington, DE) 5
1988Andover National (MA) 9, Brandywine (Wilmington, DE) 6 (9 innings)
1987Dover North (NH) 4, Montoursville (PA) 1
1986Brunswick (MD) 9, Ozone Howard (Queens, NY Metro) 3
1985South Shore (Staten Island, NY Metro) 13, Westfield North (MA) 1
1984McCabe-Waters (Bristol, CT) 1, Palisades Park (NJ) 0
1983Stamford American (CT) 5, Fair-North (Woonsocket, RI) 1
1982Easton (MD) 4, Millis (MA) 2
1981Stamford Federal (CT) 8, North Burlington (VT) 1
1980Darlington American (Pawtucket, RI) 4, Newark National (DE) 0
1979Ridgewood National (NJ) 4, North Braddock (PA) 2
1978Rockville Centre American (NY Metro) 3, Connnellsville (PA) 0
1977Carman (Rotterdam, NY) 6, Dover (NH) 1
1976Forestville (CT) 2, South Shore (Staten Island, NY) 1 (7 innings)
1975Lakewood (NJ) 4, Carbino Club (Jessup, PA) 2
1974Walter "Pop" Smith (New Haven, CT) 3, Livingston (NJ) 2
1973Colonie (NY) 6, Hagerstown National (MD) 2
1972New City (NY) 5, Manchester (NH) 0
1971Augusta East (ME) 3, Wallington (NJ) 2
1970Wayne American (NJ) 3, DuBois (PA) 2
1969Newberry (Williamsport, PA) 8, Smithtown (NY) 4
1968Hagerstown National (MD) 10, Parkway National (West Roxbury, MA) 0
1967Newtown-Edgmont (Newtown Square, PA) 1, West New York American (NJ) 0
1966West New York American (NJ) 16, Huntingdon (PA) 10
1965Windsor Locks (CT) 4, Danvers National (MA) 3
1964Mid-Island (Staten Island, NY) 14, New London National (CT) 1
1963Stratford Original (CT) 6, Connellsville (PA) 0
1962Pitman (NJ) 4, Back Mountain (Dallas, PA) 1
1961Levittown American (PA) 8, Darien (CT) 0
1960Levittown American (PA) 3, Newton West (MA) 1
1959Schenectady National (NY) 6, Bridgeport Northern (CT) 2
1958Darien (CT) 8, South Utica (NY) 0
1957North End (Bridgeport, CT) 1, Haverstraw (NY) 0

More From Q97.9